JM
Posted By
James_M._Moon
Dec 13, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
My wife is a photographer using 7 on a windows machine. I am going to get her a laptop for Christmas. I need to know what would be my best bet. Mac? Windows? It looks like I will need to buy at least CS3 regardless. Is that true? Can 7 be used on Vista or Leopard 10.5? I’m a musician, so I’m leaning toward a Mac. I really don’t want to spend much more than $1200 for the machine. I’m really confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

B
Buko
Dec 13, 2008
I really don’t want to spend much more than $1200

Then Mac is not a good choice.

It looks like I will need to buy at least CS3

Only CS4 is for sale now.

Can 7 be used on Vista or Leopard 10.5

No on 10.5, not sure about Vista but I know its not supported it may or may not work.
NK
Neil_Keller
Dec 13, 2008
I’m a musician, so I’m leaning toward a Mac. I really don’t want to spend much more than $1200 for the machine.

If you’re leaning towards a Mac, maybe you can check out used recent vintage (Intel) Macs. Otherwise, you’ll probably find a more powerful Windows machine for the price.

It looks like I will need to buy at least CS3 regardless.

From a legitimate source, or from Adobe, pretty much only CS4 is on the shelves now. I recommend that you not don’t be tempted to buy "used" or "remainder" discontinued software from non-authorized dealers or eBay.

Neil
R
randalqueen
Dec 14, 2008
This is not to bash Apple. There are a lot of first generation MacBook Pro’s out there on craigslist, for example, and there are issues for those serious about editing photos and using this as their primary machine.

< http://arstechnica.com/journals/apple.ars/2007/05/18/lawsuit -over-mac-book-mac-book-pro-displays>