Posted By
David_Orman
Feb 3, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,

I’m trying to use a copy of CS2, it’s completely up to date as of today, on a Vista Business machine. It seems to work fine, except when I go to "Image Resize" on a PSD I’ve been working on using CS2 on an XP machine. PS completely locks up and stays frozen, I have to force quit it.

Is anybody else experiencing this? Vista has been re-installed just to see if that was the issue, even with a clean install of vista, all updates, and a clean install of CS2, it locks up on image resizing.

If somebody else with Vista could check on this, it would be very much appreciated. If there’s a workaround, that’s even better. I’m not a PS expert, I’m trying to help a graphics design friend who IS a PS expert, but a computer dummy. 😉

Thanks!
David

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

BL
Bob Levine
Feb 3, 2007
Just for kicks, try turning hardware acceleration down to zero. If that works, you’ve got a bad video driver…not all that crazy an idea with a brand new O/S.

Bob
DO
David_Orman
Feb 3, 2007
Tried various cards already, I thought that might be the issue. He’s got a NVIDIA Quadro 4500 in there now, but we tried a few other Nvidia and ATI cards too, with no luck. Don’t think that’s the issue. Using WHQL certified drivers, as well as the vendor latest (Vista supported) versions.

I haven’t tried the acceleration option, but I would hope that’s not a problem. Do you have a copy of Vista/CS2 so you could give things a shot? It’s just a PSD with about 10 layers, some text some graphics, and he’s trying to do "Image resize". The dialog box doesn’t even pop up, PS just locks up. The tools/etc seem to work fine, though.
BL
Bob Levine
Feb 3, 2007
I have a test machine here with Vista RC1 on it. No problems like what you’re experiencing.

Bob
DO
David_Orman
Feb 3, 2007