Posted By
Roberto
Aug 31, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m relatively new to Photoshop.

My question is as follows: If I print a 4"x6" photo at 275dpi, when I print the same photo at 8"x10" (or larger) do I have to increase the dpi? If so, is it quadrupled? Or do I use the same dpi?

Thanks!

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

EG
Eric Gill
Aug 31, 2003
"Steve" wrote in
news::

My question is as follows: If I print a 4"x6" photo at 275dpi, when I print the same photo at 8"x10" (or larger) do I have to increase the dpi? If so, is it quadrupled? Or do I use the same dpi?

If you are printing on a device that requires 275 PPI for optimal output, it should be 275 ppi no matter what size you’re printing.

However, *you* do not increase the PPI. Nor does Photoshop. Your photo needs to have that resolution or higher to begin with. If it does not, nothing you do will actually change that, and attempting to upsample in PS can easily damage your image.

If you have a smaller image you need printed larger, you must scan (or capture for things like digital cameras) at higher resolution. In your example, the short side of the picture must have at least 2200 pixels; if that photo is 4"x 6" to begin with, you need to scan it at about 550 ppi (hopefully your scanner can actually produce that rez.)
R
Roberto
Sep 1, 2003
Thanks for the response.

I am using a 4.1 megapixel camera. I have a Canon i950 printer.

I have printed a number of 4×6 prints and they look great. I was about to print an 8×10 and was just wondering about the dpi (or is it ppi).

Sounds like I just leave it at 275. Right?

"Eric Gill" wrote in message
"Steve" wrote in

If you are printing on a device that requires 275 PPI for optimal output, it should be 275 ppi no matter what size you’re printing.