DC
Posted By
Dave Cohen
May 14, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I want to minimize file size and still have useful jpg’s for printing 4×6 and 5×7 photos, web page images, and desktop backgrounds.

I really don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, so my questions are very remedial, but I would appreciate a quick lesson. I’m just a point and shoot amateur photographer trying to capture memories to "film."

I’m using a 4 megapixel camera and right now I’m using the HQ 1288×1712 setting for my general purpose photos.

I’m using Photoshop Elements 2.0.

When it comes to cropping, resizing, adjusting color, brightness, contrast, and level, in what order should I proceed.

In the resize image window, the Pixel Dimensions box shows that my width and height values are equal to my camera settings of 1288 pixels x 1712 pixels.

And the document size box shows width and height values of approximately 31 inches x 23 inches with a resolution of 72 pixels/inch.

The constrain proportions and resample image boxes are checked.

What do all these settings mean?

Thanks,

JS

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

DC
Dave Cohen
May 16, 2004
John Smith wrote:

I want to minimize file size and still have useful jpg’s for printing 4×6 and 5×7 photos, web page images, and desktop backgrounds.
I really don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, so my questions are very remedial, but I would appreciate a quick lesson. I’m just a point and shoot amateur photographer trying to capture memories to "film."
I’m using a 4 megapixel camera and right now I’m using the HQ 2288×1712 setting for my general purpose photos.

I’m using Photoshop Elements 2.0.

When it comes to cropping, resizing, adjusting color, brightness, contrast, and level, in what order should I proceed.