GO
Posted By
Graham_Ormerod
Jan 12, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am pretty new to photoshop, and followed instructions faithfully, but still didn’t get what I was looking for.

I need to create a new chinese character (which are essentially pictures) by using the parts of two other chinese charaacters. The end result has to be the same font and size and the same boldness as the original. I have managed everything apart from two things:

1) the new picture/character is not bold any more. For some reason, it has changed to a kind of light grey. This said, it is still 100% black. (please note that the characters were typed into PhotoShop in the correct bold font and size)

2) it looks OK in Phototshop, but when I copy the new character (as a jpeg file) into InDesign and put it next to the other ‘natural’ chinese characters, (a) it is obviously not bold, and (b), the picture/character has jagged, pixellated edges.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong – any ideas?

Many thanks – Graham

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

BL
Bob Levine
Jan 12, 2007
I think you’re going to need to post some screen shots, but I’ll give you one piece of advice….never C/P from Photoshop to InDesign.

Save as PDF from Photoshop (that will retain vector and text) and place that in InDesign.

Bob
GO
Graham_Ormerod
Jan 13, 2007
Dear Bob,

Thanks for helping out on this. The problem is with the title and it is pretty obvious even to a non-chinese reader where the problem lies. I hope you can help on this. Could you also confirm that in a case like this, that I can use a copy of the character image in PDF format and place that in INDD.

< http://www.pixentral.com/show.php?picture=1Yfrhmn8WhkUtNDVZk SMDyHUmayFFi0>

Best regards – Graham
BL
Bob Levine
Jan 13, 2007
PDF is certainly the way I would go.

Bob
GO