DD
Posted By
Dina_Dembicki
Oct 3, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all. I’ve searched this forum for answers but I haven’t found my specific question(s). If there is a thread that already exists, feel free to point me to it.

Qualifier: I’m new to web design and using Photoshop to generate web graphics. I am, however, an experienced designer, not new to PS, but primarily use it for image manipulation and color correction of photos for print. The point is, being a newbie to this aspect of using PS, I may be asking it to do something it can’t. I’d be interested in reading about best practices.

I’m using Photoshop CS3, v.10.0.1.

Background info: I have created a simple graphic for a splash page with a large logo in the middle, some text, and some navigation. The navigation has 1 rollover state. I have sliced the entire image, with the nav words being their own individual slices. Each nav word has a drop shadow and a color overlay effect applied to it. I saved the entire graphic’s slices (with the nav words effects hidden) via the Save for Web & Devices dialog, choosing save HTML and images. Open the HTML file in DW, all is grand.

So, now I have gone back into my PS file and shown the effects for the nav words. I want to save only those slices, with different names (i.e. _over appended to the name).

So, two things:

1: when saving, it creates a new folder every time, called Images, inside the Images folder that I’ve already pointed it to. Needless to say, it’s creating massive confusion for my newbie brain. If I’m not mistaken, I want to have only one Images folder per web site. I guess there’s some preference somewhere that I’ve failed to address. Please advise.