R
Posted By
rmorgan1016
Apr 28, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m actually rather embarrassed to be writing this, but I’m new to Photoshop Elements and I may be overthinking this.

I want to do something that I’m sure is very simple; namely, I want to fade an image from top to bottom so that it is "normal" at the top and slowly fades to nothing at the bottom of the image. I’ve been playing wiht the gradient tool for the better part of two hours, and while I can get it to to fade to black by selecting the Foreground to Transparent gradient I can’t make it fade to, well, nothing. "Fade" may be the wrong work for the PE community, but I can’t think of a better one. Basically, I want the image to get lighter and lighter until it just goes away.

I’ll appeciate being pointed in the right direction, and thanks.

Oh, the image is a 16-million-color .jpg, and I use the Windows version of PE.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

WE
Wendy_E_Williams
Apr 28, 2004
Morgan,

Try changing your forground colour to white. To do that take a look at the two coloured squares (one black and one white) on the bottom left hand side of your tool bar … just above them you will see a curved line with an arrow on each end … click on that and the foreground and background colours will switch over.

Wendy
BG
Byron Gale
Apr 28, 2004
rm’

If your image is a Background layer, double-click it to turn it into a plain layer.

Then, create a new layer and drag the new layer below the original in the Layers palette.

On the new layer, create a color-to-transparent gradient (any color will do), with the colored portion of the gradient in the same orientation as you want your image to show. i.e. if you want the image solid at the top, and transparent at the bottom, the gradient layer should be colored at the top and transparent at the bottom.