IJ
Posted By
Irma_Jarvis
Apr 26, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I bought a Dell 2400 with 768 of RAM)(Windows XP)in December 2003. Since then I have had 1 new hard drive (New Year’s eve), 1 complete new computer replacement (January), & one reformat of & reinstall of XP(February).
I started using Photoshop 5.5, then 6.0 & now 7.0. I also use PS Elements 2.0 & PS Album for certain things. I am not a professional. However, it is a rather serious hobby for me, having started with wanting a way to fix my damaged old family pictures & has developed from there.
Here goes with my problem….(Dell tech support, knowledgeable friends, etc have not been able to solve this!!) I sure hope one of you can help, as it has become a major problem for me!
Programs close (disappear), or say they have to close "due to …..error", or the pictures just disappear from the screen & then the program starts acting crazy or freezes. It happens when I try to send a picture with an e-mail (OE 6.0) or using any photo program, including non Adobe ones. It seems like they are mostly jpegs or gifs (tried gifs recently on advise from a friend, but no help).
I’ve tried to think of all the questions you might ask, but I’m sure there will be more. I just hope someone can help, as this is driving me crazy & I have albums to work on pictures for, etc & this has me stymied! I have been watching to see if anyone else has had this problem, but if so, haven’t seen it. Thanks to anyone who can help!!

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

BB
brent_bertram
Apr 26, 2004
Irma,
What you’re seeing is obviously not normal behavior. I can think of two possibilities :

1) Virus action- A virus in your system could cause all the problems you list.

2) Bad hardware, probably RAM memory or motherboard.