WK
Posted By
Walt Kay
Feb 11, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi, first of all I’ve been using Photoshop since version 4 so I’m no newbie there but I am new to this newsgroup. Here’s what I’d like to do. In addition to 2d graphics I also use 3d programs and I’m currently getting more into 3d modeling. I use a free modeler called Wings 3d and one of the things you can do with Wings is to import .ai (Illustrator) files to use for your models. This has intrigued me and one of the things I’d like to do is to use Photoshop for this. I’ve already tried this but I think I may be doing something wrong. Here’s what I do, I import the image that I want to do the model of as a JPG file, I trace around the edges with the pen tool as all I want is the basic shape and I can extrude the model in Wings. When I try to save it as an .ai file Photoshop tells me it’s going to convert it to an .eps file. I’ve tried renaming the file to .ai and importing it but I haven’t had any luck yet. Another thing is I also get a warning from Wings saying it only takes .ai files from Illustrator 8 and earlier. Is there a way to do this? Keep in mind I don’t have Illustrator and even if I did I get the feeling Wings wouldn’t accept it because of the aforementioned version 8 and earlier dialog. Looking forward to some help. Thanks.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

J
john
Feb 11, 2004
In article
<MpyWb.30054$>, "Walt
Kay" wrote:

Hi, first of all I’ve been using Photoshop since version 4 so I’m no newbie there but I am new to this newsgroup. Here’s what I’d like to do. In addition to 2d graphics […]