KC
Posted By
k_christopher
Feb 21, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m trying to edit a photo and having a problem with the cloning tool not working. I’m new to this but did successfully edit another photo with layers using the cloning tool. On this photo, last night I used it successfully, with layers. Came back this morning to continue work and it’s just not functioning. I tried using it selecting, one at at time, each layer — wouldn’t work on any of them. Then I tried flattening the photo, so not all those layers, but it still won’t work. (I now have a layer "o" and a layer "1")

can someone help me out here?

thanks so much-
kc

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

CS
Chuck_Snyder
Feb 21, 2004
kc, you may have to go through the ‘delete preferences’ routine to get the tool restored to health; have you done that before?

Chuck
GD
Grant_Dixon
Feb 21, 2004
kc

Before doing anything check the settings in "Mode" pull down on the settings bar. These settings can drastically effect how the way this tool works or appears not to work. Try setting it at Normal to start with. If this fails do what Chuck suggest as he is a very clever fellow.

Grant
KC
k_christopher
Feb 21, 2004
OK, it’s working again, but I can’t figure out why. I just kept trying and re-trying and it started up again. I don’t think I was doing anything differently. But if anyone has any ideas as to what’s going on, I’d be most grateful!

kc
KC
k_christopher
Feb 21, 2004
Grant – just saw your reply – I’ll take a look . . .
but I don’t see a response from Chuck . . .?

kc
CS
Chuck_Snyder
Feb 21, 2004
KC – I had suggested the universal antidote to bad behavior by Elements: the Delete Preferences routine. But Grant’s approach was much better – both the mode and the opacity have a tendency to get changed and in some modes the clone tool just doesn’t do a thing.

Chuck
KC
k_christopher
Feb 21, 2004