IS
Posted By
Ilonka_Smyth
Oct 19, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I would have thought it to be a common practice to blend together two seperate exposures for interior shots.

The most common mistake made by photographers is over-exposing a shot to obtain a bright interior image and in the process burning out the windows/open doors.

I am fairly new to photoshop CS2 and im finding it VERY difficult to get any helpful tutorials/instructions on achieving this.

1) i could copy the darker exposed photo and paste onto the lighter exposed shot, select the areas i want to bring through the brighter image with a magic wand, (the entire exterior you see from outside the window) and then create a layer mask.
This is great! however, when i do this, the selection is not 100% perfect and the lines around the frame of a window come out black as it picks up pixels from the darker exposed shot. So when you zoom in, it is not a clean cut.

Ideally, i want to have a correctly exposed window layered with a correctly exposed interior.

2) i could drag the darker image onto of the other, bring up the layer style box and play around with that.
Fantastic effect! but i cannot adjust it so that it blends correctly. Either the pixels in the exterior start to go whiter as i correctly alter the interior, or the interior remains with heavy black pixels on the shadows cast on the walls from the light.

Can anyone help??? or point me in the general direction of h.e.l.p?

Surely someone has come across this problem???

Thanks

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

C
chrisjbirchall
Oct 19, 2006
You need to add a layer mask to the top layer and paint on that with a soft edged brush set to around 50%.

Have you explored the Merge to HDR feature in PSCS2?

You’ll find this PDF useful: <http://www.adobe.com/digitalimag/pdfs/phscs2ip_hilight.pdf>
DL
David_Lingard
Oct 19, 2006