New to 2.0 and having some difficulties…

SL
Posted By
Sean_Lloyd
Feb 9, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all. This is gonna be kind of long.

As the subject line indicates, I am a noob to digital photography, and to Elements. For Christmas, I received an Olympus C-740, and soon thereafter purchased Photoshop. The camera came with Camedia software, which allowed me to do little more than download images to my pc. No email support. Both photo programs were successfully installed (I think.)

OK, to my problems.

From what I have been able to glean from the help function, the book, etc etc, Photoshop is supposed to…I guess "embrace" the original software. That is, when I want to download from the camera, I enter Elements, click import, select the camera/software, then save the downloaded images as
PSD(?) files. Well, I can download fine if I start from Camedia, but Photoshop isn’t recognizing Camedia at all. The options presented include "PDF Image, my scanner/printer/copier, and frame from video." What I end up doing is browsing the original images in the Camedia folders, doing a little screwing around, then resaving (JPEG, not Photoshop file.) The Camedia saves these as Quicktime JPEG’s (not sure if this is important, but didn’t want to leave any stone unturned.)

Next, I just purchased a new car, and of course, being a proud papa, took some pics. Spent WAY TO MUCH DAMNED TIME last night trying to get the sizing correct. Photoshop is also defaulting to the wrong email program, but by browsing previous posts, I think I have that problem solved (Control Panel–>Internet Options–>etc.)

Here is the email process that I went through. Browse images in the Camedia folders (Using Photoshop,)clicked on attach to email, shrink it a little (files end up around 500kb,) hit ok, and then it goes to the wrong email, cancel, cancel. I end up bringing up Outlook Express, attaching the jpeg files and sending.