Photoshop CS (1) wont open any files, in any way – Please help!

V
Posted By
velvia
Jul 30, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi
Photoshop has started to do an odd thing …and I am in crisis as I am a photographer and kind of need it!

It will not open ANY image file, of any size, or any type via any opening method – double clicking on the file, dragging onto the dock icon, using Finder and File Menu>Open or going into P/Shop and using File Menu>Open.

Photoshop opens fine and does all the usual things when opening an image file – it even gives me the dialogue box when the Colour Settings do not match the work space.

Then, every time it gives me a message saying: "Could not complete your request because of a program error".

It gives the same message if I try to create a new file within P/Shop.

Thus far I have:
– Repaired disk permissions
– Binned P/Shop prefs
– Uninstalled and re-installed the whole of Creative Suite 1 (!!!) – Tried a new user account and the problem was the same. – I read about needing to put "Adobe Unit Types" File into a folder called "ScriptingAdditions" at HD/Library/ScriptingAdditions. (This was already there, but I tried an old version from an archived OS 10.4.4, and then downloaded a new version of it from the web and tried that).
– Put this file in every library I could find on the Mac (that was out of desperation!). – Restarted about a billion times.
– Checked Adobe.com for updates and help.
– Added any available updates for CS1
-Trawled the web for hours looking for a solution.
– Disconnected from the internet while opening a file (As Adobe suggested – like that it gonna do anything?!?!?)
– run /sbin/fsck -uy at the command prompt after starting up in single user mode. – Torn my hair out
– Sworn a lot.
– Resisted temptation to put foot through monitor

I also installed an old copy of Elements v2 in the hope it would give me at least something to work with but I got exactly the same problem and message from Elements – arrrgh!