RH
Posted By
Richard_Haylock
Aug 25, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Using WinXP SP2, Photoshop 8, and DW MX2004 my web photo gallery at < http://www.theairingcupboard.com/media/slideShowASYC/index.h tm> displays fine in IE (latest version) but not in Firefox (also latest version).

Only the top half of the main picture displays in Firefox.

The "template" C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop CS\Presets\Web Photo Gallery\Horizontal Slideshow\IndexPage.htm appears to test for firefox but also doesn’t appear to correct (or offer to correct) incompatible code. (I’m not a programmer)

Has anyone else come across this quirk, and if so, what’s causing the problem and how can I fix it?

Using Dell Dimension 9150, 4Gb RAM, NVidia GeForce 7900GTX 512 Mb, RAID mirrored discs.

Any ideas gratefully received, please.

Best regards

Richard Haylock

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

EH
Ed_Hannigan
Aug 25, 2006
Hmmm. Kind of odd. Does it preview locally on FF correctly?

I wonder if you dumped that right-click disabling script (which is very easy to overcome) if it would display properly.
L
LenHewitt
Aug 25, 2006
Richard,

You have no DOCTYPE declaration, so FF will revert to full Quirks mode.

You need before the <HTML> the following:

DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3. org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
C
chrisjbirchall
Aug 25, 2006
Also Richard, when I tried (IE6) it stopped loading the thumbs at number 63.

Ed is right about the right-click being easy to get around. Worse still IE is displaying the image tool bar so visitors can easily steal your images that way.

No only that, it is most annoying having that pesky little bar appear every time you hover over an image.

Put: in the head tags to disable it.