Posted By
Baronnn
Jun 28, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,

I am quite new to Adobe Photoshop and I cannot figure this out. Hopefully some one can help me. A colleague of mine asked me to make a print screen of something and then save the print screen with 300 dpi. How can I do this?

The Adobe Photoshop I am running is CS2, version 9.0

Thanks!

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

MH
Mike Hyndman
Jun 28, 2006
"Baronnn" wrote in message
Hello,

I am quite new to Adobe Photoshop and I cannot figure this out. Hopefully some one can help me. A colleague of mine asked me to make a print screen of something and then save the print screen with 300 dpi. How can I do this?

Thanks!
Do you mean ppi or dpi? dpi applies to printers. see
http://www.rideau-info.com/photos/mythdpi.html

For ppi, go to Image>Image Size. Set resolution to 300 (ppi) if original figure is smaller than this, make sure that the resample image box is ticked (this will make your final image file size bigger, not the image dimensions) and select bicubic smoother.

MH
A
AAvK
Jun 28, 2006
Hello,

Thanks!

Yes DPI is a printing resolution of actual ink (dots of ink per inch) , PPI is pixels_ per_inch digital resolution, they mean that, the latter. This is what is required for printing.

This also requires something called ‘interpolation’ to change the digital size of the file. Photoshop does have interpolation but only for the printing stage in file transfer, it cannot successfully make a 72 PPI image into a 300PPI image that looks natural, other than pixelated, that can then be saved as useable.

In other words, Photoshop will make an image into 300 PPI for printing only, while the file remains as a 72 PPI file on the hard disc.

You think about that, the rest is paranoia.