Posted By
surfmonkey89
Nov 7, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,

I’m a newbie, so please take it easy on me…

I’m trying to use the image tools: clone stamp, healing brush, that whole section of the toolbar, and it appears that nothing I try take effect.

For example, when using the Clone tool:
– brush 45px
– hardness 25%
– mode lighten (also tried Normal)
– opacity 90%
– flow 100%
– airbrush abilities button enabled
– Aligned checked
– Sample all Layers unchecked

I Alt+Click to select and area, but when I try to paint nothing happens even though according to my history the actions are taking place.

Same goes for Healing Brush. I click on the area I want to heal and nothing happens.

Any ideas? I must be missing something really basic here. Let me know if you need any more info.

thanks in advance,
paul

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

Y
YrbkMgr
Nov 7, 2005
Paul,

but when I try to paint nothing happens even though according to my history the actions are taking place.

Are you trying to do this on an ajustment layer, like levles or Hue/Sat? Or is it on an legit layer with image data in it?

Peace,
Tony
S
surfmonkey89
Nov 7, 2005
Sorry if that wasn’t clear. The first thing I ALWAYS do is a Create Layer Via Copy (Ctrl+L), and do my adjustments on that.

Make sense?
Y
YrbkMgr
Nov 7, 2005
Yes, it makes sense. If you’re tools aren’t working on a layer with image data, the easiest thing to do is to reset your preferences per the procedure in the faq. That will set all tools and settings to their default. Then you can evaluate if it’s something else at play.

Also, note that certain tools and filters are only available in certain modes and depths. So, for simplicity sake, check to see that the image is in RGB or Grayscale mode, with 8 bit detph.
S
surfmonkey89
Nov 7, 2005