Posted By
Jonathan_Lewis
Oct 21, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all,

I’ve been using PSCS2 for several months now, and aside from some slight slowness on my computer, I haven’t had any significant problems. However, I’ve encountered a problem today that I have no idea how to fix.

I’m working on an image that is going to be posted online. The Photoshop file size is very small (under 1MB). I needed to crop the image slightly, but when I tried to do so, it told me that my scratch disk was full. I’ve got 55 gig spare on my scratch drive, so I thought that was kind of odd that working on such a small image would fill it up. I went to My Computer and checked the drive that I have set up as the scratch disk, and found that there was a Photoshop temp file that was over 50 gig. I’ve tried opening other small files and have found that they’re also creating huge temp files (100MB+).

Obviously I’m not able to get any work done with this happenening. Does anyone have any ideas on what might be causing this problem, and what I can do about it?

Thanks,
Jonathan

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

CC
Chris_Cox
Oct 21, 2005
You set a target size and resolution in the crop tool that results in a HUGE file. Check the options you entered in the crop tool options bar.
JL
Jonathan_Lewis
Oct 21, 2005