HP
Posted By
Hal_Plimpton
Dec 29, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m a newbie to Elements 2.0 (under Dell Dimension 4500 – Win2000) and can’t seem to find a either a recipe or technique that deals with the issue of removing the glare in glasses in portraits. Is there a simple process?…best tools to use?…Can someone suggest a step-by-step fix?

Grateful for any constructive comments.

hveep

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

BH
Beth_Haney
Dec 29, 2003
Has the glare totally eliminated the person’s eye, too? If so, the technique will be different.

If there’s just glare, but the eye is still visible, the first thing you should try is using the Clone tool and replacing the blown out areas of the lense by taking samples from a spot that’s still OK.

If the eye is eliminated, we can hope the same thing isn’t true of both eyes. If you’ve got one good one, you could select it with one of the selection tools, copy the selection, and then paste it in on the other side. If it’s too big or too small, it can be resized using the Move tool

If both of them are blown out, well… Can you find their eyes in another picture?!

Let us know how severe the problem is, and then someone can address this in more detail as it fits the situation.
JW
JP White
Dec 30, 2003
wrote:

I’m a newbie to Elements 2.0 (under Dell Dimension 4500 – Win2000) and can’t seem to find a either a recipe or technique that deals with the issue of removing the glare in glasses in portraits. Is there a simple process?…best tools to use?…Can someone suggest a step-by-step fix?

hveep

I removed glare from a vehicle windshield by…

1. Selecting the windshield
2. Copy and paste to a new layer
3. Apply Multiply Blending Mode and then adjust opacity to suit.