Posted By
mgts517
Oct 13, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi..
I’m an absolute novice with photoshop ,so your patience is appreciated.. Just got a copy of cs2…
Can you please tell me how to straighten an image?
I used the straighten & crop tool ,but it doesn’t really work that well. Is there another alternative,or maybe another way I can fix these images? Thanks ,
Mike

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

JS
Jim_Solt
Oct 13, 2005
MEASURE TOOL.

Mark line on photo you want to be level.

IMAGE>ROTATE CANVAS>ARBITRARY

That will open a dialog box with predetermined amount to rotate canvas either clockwise or counter clockwise to make line level. Click OK.

You will now see the canvas doesn’t fill up the size of the original canvas. You will need to crop it to correct that.

Jim
C
chrisjbirchall
Oct 13, 2005
Sorry to be suspicious Mike, but

Just got a copy of cs2…

is the sort of terminology used by someone who has – how shall we say? – acquired a copy through a friend of a friend.

"Just bought" or "just upgraded" is what we are used to hearing here.

If you have bought your CS2 legally you are most welcome at these forums and there will be plenty willing to help you.

If I’m way off the mark, then I apologize for my suspicious mind.

Oh and by the way: Jim’s advice is spot-on.

Chris.
L
LeDeane
Oct 13, 2005
Hi Chris, I downloaded my copy of CS2 as a trial. It was so good I couldn’t pay for it fast enough! Thats what Mike is going to do for sure. regards jc
DO
David_Orlich
Oct 15, 2005
Hi Mike and everybody. I’m new to the Forums, but I’m a pretty experienced PS user. I learned Photoshop touching up images for a real estate magazine, and here’s what I’ve always found useful for straightening an image: