HS
Posted By
Hania_Stadtler
Dec 11, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I understand that Jpeg compresses by throwing out pixels when you save a photo, and replacing them when you open. It replaces the pixels by guessing their color based on adjoining pixels. My questions are:

If you just open a pic to view without editing, will it always throw and replace the same pixel (lets say every 5th pixel) and therefore not add to the damage every time, or does it pic and choose the pixels randomly every time?

If it does replace the same pixel every time, would the degradation stop if all one does is adjust color, and only be and issue if one messes around with the placement of pixels, as in cropping etc?

I am new at this, so please forgive if I am an a totally wrong track.

Thank you in advance, you guys/gals have been great at clearing things up, and the existing posts have been a lot of help.

Hania

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

CS
Chuck_Snyder
Dec 11, 2003
Hania, if you open and close the same JPEG repeatedly without editing, it will do the same thing every time. The rest of your question regarding what has the most effect on degradation requires expertise I don’t have, but directionally the less editing you do, the less degradation takes place. Also, saving at the highest quality and least compression is advisable for those images that you want to keep at full size for printing. Many forum residents who have tried to find the effects of editing, saving and reopening JPEG’s have had a difficult time finding the problem areas; it can be subtle unless you make major changes during multiple editing sessions and save at a higher compression/lower quality. Hope that helps directionally….

Chuck
BG
Byron_Gale
Dec 11, 2003
Hania,

I concur with Chuck’s comments.