Posted By
johnsset
Jun 12, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all.

It’s time for me to buy me a new printer. Since I’m primarily going to be using it to print pages for my protfolio (I’m a graphic designer / layout artist), I need something that will print up to 13×19.

I’m looking both the Epson 2200 (inkjet) and Epson 1280 (dye sub).

My question is, which do you think is the better route to go? Inkjet or dye sub? Most of my stuff will have a mix of photographs, text, and vector graphics, so I’m not interested as interested in photographic quality as I am in color reproduction, line sharpness, and cost per print.

Any thoughts?

I’m not sure I even know the primary advantages of inkjet vs. dye sub.

Please… help me out.

Thanks!

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

R
Ram
Jun 12, 2004
Epson 1280 (dye sub)

?????
R
Ram
Jun 12, 2004
CLICK the link below:

The Epson Stylus® Photo 1280 ink jet printer < http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/consumer/consDetail.jsp?B V_UseBVCookie=yes&oid=28907797>
J
johnsset
Jun 12, 2004
Ramon, again with your rudeness.

Please think about being a little more kind and courteous to people on here.

Now, with a dose of your own medicine:

???????????

CUT & PASTE (since I’m apparently not smart enough to embed a link, maybe you want to make a condescending remark about that, too?) the link below:

< http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_cod e=50257498&pfp=SEARCH>

Notice how under "Printer Type" it’s listed as "Color Dye Sublimation."

Or, is that another term for "Color Ink Jet?"
R
Ram
Jun 12, 2004
John,

Sorry, I don’t remember you at all. Sorry if I unwittingly offended you in the past.

I looked at your link, and it says INK JET PRINTER all over the place, in the title and in the blurb.