JA
Posted By
jason_a_schmidt
Jun 7, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Has anyone else had the problem of Photoshop sucking up memory from the main drive? I’ve set my scratch disk to a dedicated "scratch" drive with 12 GB empty space plus I’ve also set additional scratch drives up. I’ve been using Photoshop since 1990 and until now (Photoshop CS) I’ve never experienced this problem. Basically, it seems that this new Photoshop is using my Scratch Disk AND my main drive. Does anyone know how to make it stop doing this and to run like previous versions? Maybe this is just a bug?

Thank you for your time.

-Jason

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

CC
Chris_Cox
Jun 8, 2004
If you specify the scratch as somewhere other than the main drive, then Photoshop won’t use the main drive.

But the OS can use the system drive for it’s paging file.

And the system drive is most likely where your preferences are stored, plus caches (filebrowser, fonts, color data, etc.).
JA
jason_a_schmidt
Jun 8, 2004
Yeah that’s what I have done. I’m really annoyed at the fact that Photoshop CS does use the main drive’s space for needed cache and Photoshop 7 doesn’t. It’s actually better for me to just stay in 7 which sucks because the beauty of CS, for me, is using folders inside of folders when working with large multiple layer movie posters. Thanks for your time.

-Jason
CC
Chris_Cox
Jun 8, 2004
Photoshop 7 used the main drive for cache just the same as CS.
JA
jason_a_schmidt
Jun 8, 2004
That may be, but obviously there is a problem when Photoshop CS’s cache increases with every file I open . . . exceeding 2 GB’s. That’s not right and IT IS different from 7.
L
Larryr544
Jun 8, 2004
Drives are inexpensive….get another large one.
R
Ram
Jun 8, 2004
Jason,

Welles Goodrich "Photoshop CS Adjusted Refresh plug-in now available" 6/2/04 7:05pm </cgi-bin/webx?14/0>