J
Posted By
jonf
May 28, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve been using Photoshop on a daily basis at work for over ten years now, and have "mastered" upgrades through PS7 (though there’s still a lot to learn). However, my Photoshop at home has not been upgraded (or used for much) for years. I’m starting to do some freelance work and need to upgrade.

Is it even going to be possible to upgrade to version 7 from version … uh … 2.5? (I’m pretty sure it’s that old, but I’m not at that computer right now). I’d hate to have to pay for a full version when I actually own the software, however outdated. I’m on a G4, OS 9.2.2. RAM is a bit short (I think it was 268 Megs), but I can upgrade that if necessary. I don’t typically work on files any larger than 80 Megs or so at home.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

P
Phosphor
May 28, 2004
You can upgrade from ANY version to the most current, at regular upgrade price, as long as you have your original serial number and/or have registered your purchase with Adobe.

From 2.5.x, you’ll likely need to contact Adobe Customer Service. As I understand, it’s a relatively painless procedure (except for waiting in the phone queue, that is)

As for getting version 7.0.1, that might be a little difficult. You may find some for sale online, but be EXCEEDINGLY diligent in making sure you get a REAL, registerable copy of the full package.

Otherwise, if you go for Photoshop 8 (aka CS) you’ll also need to upgrade to OS X, which is something you’re going to have to do eventually anyway. And LOT’s more RAM will be in order…no less than 512 MB. And get the good stuff, even if it costs more. Cheap RAM has proven to be the source of many problems for many people.
J
jonf
May 28, 2004
Thanks Phos. That’s encouraging.