Posted By
Iain Williams
Nov 23, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,

Although not new to photography and I am new to digital and elements 1 & 2. I hope someone can steer me in the correct direction with my query.

The images from my 5 meg camera come out as .jpgs (which I copy and archive). I then batch command the images to tiffs for image manipulation. (After manipulation I save the tiffs to archive along with the original jpgs). I then convert the tiffs back to jpgs for lower size file storing on my HD for slide shows, internet, e-mail, etc.

My THREE questions relate to when I batch command the tiffs back to jpgs.

There are two ways I can convert.
1. A straight conversion without ticking file conversion.
2. Use file conversion method.

Which is the best method of the above two????

If I use the convert file method, I tick convert file and leave the width & height boxes empty, selecting one of the above DPI numbers, however, I cannot really see any difference between 600 DPI and 150 DPI. Although the 600 DPI must have a higher resolution!

What DPI do most folks recommend here?????

Lastly, when I batch convert the images they always are quite low in size no matter what the initial file size was. It seems that elements 1 automatically optimises the best File size when batching. Is this correct??

I do not print images – only view on monitor.

Thanks………….Iain

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

JH
Jim_Hess
Nov 23, 2003