Tooth whitening in PS – is this possible?

P
Posted By
PapaBear
Aug 14, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am looking to use PS or some other program to preview results of tooth whitening in a dental office. I am trying to replicate the following procedure, for which specialized ($$$) programs exist:

(1) In a picture of a smile the program/plugin/procedure should be able to *select the teeth area* automatically (by color or brightness – very different from lips, gums, etc.).
(2) The user can then *manipulate* the color saturation, color balance on the selection for the desired result.
(3) The selection can then be *combined* with the rest of the picture to be viewed and printed.

Is this possible in PS – or using some plugin, procedure etc. I am a total PS newbie, only recently bought a digital camera 🙂
I have seen past threads about manually doing this procedure. What I am trying to avoid is the process of manually selecting the tooth area, which is time consuming and imprecise.

Thanks very much for any suggestions.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

B
Bernie
Aug 14, 2003
On Thu, 14 Aug 2003 09:52:16 -0400, "PapaBear" wrote:

I am looking to use PS or some other program to preview results of tooth whitening in a dental office. I am trying to replicate the following procedure, for which specialized ($$$) programs exist:

(1) In a picture of a smile the program/plugin/procedure should be able to *select the teeth area* automatically (by color or brightness – very different from lips, gums, etc.).
(2) The user can then *manipulate* the color saturation, color balance on the selection for the desired result.
(3) The selection can then be *combined* with the rest of the picture to be viewed and printed.

Is this possible in PS – or using some plugin, procedure etc. I am a total PS newbie, only recently bought a digital camera 🙂