ML
Posted By
Mel_Lewis
Oct 20, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am working with many portraits in black and white. It seems to be the nature of the beast that whenever the subject’s hands are included the hands always seem to print in a lighter shade. I was wondering what would be the best method of selectively darkening, at least a portion of the hands,to achieve a more realistic tonal quality.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JH
Jim_Hess
Oct 20, 2003
There are actually a number of different ways you can accomplish this. I’m not a professional with any of these techniques, but here are a couple that I have used. Using the magnetic lasso tool, create a selection that includes the hands. Copy that area and then paste it onto a new layer. Then you can use the burn and dodge tools to work on just the hands. Or, as an alternative, you could use the brightness/contrast tool or the lightness Ctrl on the hue/saturation tool to make adjustments to the layer. And then, you can always adjust the opacity of the layer as well.
EM
Elena Murphy
Oct 20, 2003
I would only add to Jim’s suggestion that you feather your selection a few pixels first. (Under the Select Menu.) Otherwise you may get a visible hard edge if you’re making more pronounced changes.
JH
Jim_Hess
Oct 20, 2003
Good point!
LK
Leen_Koper
Oct 20, 2003
This is the way I do it. I use a layer, choose a large black soft brush and paint it over with 50% opacity.
After this has been done I reduce the opacity of the layer to the apropriate amount of shading. I learned this works much better than darkening a selection as often -if you ever work in colour- the saturation increases and you will have to adjust this too. Moreover, a large soft brush prevents visible hard edges.