SP
Posted By
steve_peters
Apr 29, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Does anyone here do Profesional car retouching? I have been doing retouching for about 8 yrs, but am now jsut getting started to do some car stuff. I know that they always want the cars very clean looking and I ahve been looking at alot of car retouching. But the one thin I do not see alot of is cars that have alot of reflections of trees. which is what I am working on. The car was shot on location, and soes not have alot of the curves showing, so I am trying to figure ou the best way of making the car look good with out losing to much of the reflections. If someone could email me, I would gladly show you what I am working on, and appreciate some advice.
thanks

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

PF
Peter_Figen
Apr 29, 2004
Car retouching, if it’s done for the manufacturer, usually involves many rounds of fixes done at the whim of a team of art directors or those who want to be art directors, and usually at obscenely high resolutions, so any screwup in the retouching will shrink to unnoticeable size at final output.

You’re right about the trees. Most car photos aren’t shot with tree reflections as they tend to fight the lines of the car.

What kind of art direction are you getting from your client? They are usually pretty specific about what they want. As far as accentuating the existing lines that weren’t drawn well in the initial photo, It’s just a matter of drawing the areas you want and shading to suit – always on separate layers so you can vary opacity, blending modes and masking.