Posted By
florida_guy
Oct 8, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi

I’m new to all this image editing stuff. I’m seriously considering buying Album 2.0 and I trying to decide if I should buy the Element/Album package.

For you guys that started with elements and then bought album are image editing features that you like better in Album then Element.

I know Element doesn’t do any of the cataloging stuff the Album does but what about things like cropping, resizing, and "quick fix" stuff?

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

BG
Byron_Gale
Oct 8, 2003
FG,

I run PSE2 and PSA1… I don’t do ANY editing via PSA.

I use PSA for it’s ability to catalog/tag images. I also use some of the Creations which PSA does.

My work flow is to find images with PSA, tag them for the specific purpose, and export them to a folder. Then, I edit them with PSE, as required. If I wish to keep my edited versions, they are archived and imported into PSA for future reference.

PSA has some useful features. I like it’s red-eye tool, for instance. However, I don’t like the way it approaches file management — effectively isolating the user from version-tracking.

FWIW.

Byron
FG
florida_guy
Oct 8, 2003

O.K. I know what you mean by version tracking. How does PSE implement it? And does it preserve the "digital negative" the way PSA does or do you edit the original file?
BH
Beth_Haney
Oct 8, 2003
florida_guy – neither PSA nor Elements actually store any image files. Those remain on folders on your hard drive, and it’s up to you whether you archive all originals and work on copies or not. Personally, I archive all my original shots and always work on a folder made up of copies that have been converted to a non-lossy format.