TI
Posted By
Tony_Isbitt
Apr 24, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have just purchased Panther and with the help of Apple managed to load it into my G4 (which already has 10.1.5 as well as OS9) When I attempt to load PS7 it starts but stops when its gets to initialising fonts. The PS panel dissapears and a while later a message come up saying an unexpected error do you want to advise apple of a bug. So why wont PS7 load on panther? It worked on OSx 10.1.5 I am not an expert on computers – especially mac so please hold my hand and explain simply. Many thanks.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

R
Ram
Apr 24, 2004
The first thing I would try is re-installing Photoshop within the Panther environment. I would delete all traces of the old one and its preferences file, Repair Permissions, then re-install and Repair Permissions once again.

Just make sure you save anything you may have added yourself to the Photoshop folder, like plug-ins, actions, etc.
TI
Tony_Isbitt
Apr 24, 2004
Hi Ramon,

It’s now 0.15am in the UK so I will try this on Monday. Just one thing. I am using OS9 until I can get Panther working properly. If I remove PH7 in panther will it affect OS9?
R
Ram
Apr 24, 2004
Tony,

The newly re-installed Photoshop7 should not affect your Classic or Mac OS 9.x (hope you are on 9.2.2) installations.
R
Ram
Apr 24, 2004
Tony,

Before re-installing, see if deleting the Photoshop preferences file and Repairing Permissions fixes your problem. It’s worth a try, and if it doesn’t, then you can do what I described in post #1.
TI
Tony_Isbitt
Apr 25, 2004
Hi Ramone,