TB
Posted By
Todd, Bill
Sep 30, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am very new to working with digital images and I am not sure what information is important so let me start with a quick description of my environment. I am using PSE 1.0, a Dell Insprion 8000 notebook with the built in LCD screen and a Canon i950 ink jet printer to print digital photographs. The images are 2200 x 1700 produced by an Olympus C-750.

I am attempting to print an image of the Grand Canyon on Kodak matte photo paper. The image on the screen has rich saturated colors. The print is washed out, almost pastel.

I have read the section in the manual about using the Adobe Gamma utility to calibrate a monitor but that does not appear to apply to LCD’s.

I have also read the section on Using Color Management When Printing (page 264-266 but I do not understand it. If I enable Color Management in the Print Preview dialog I cannot find anything in the Print Space Profile drop-down that appears to relate to my printer (with the possible exception of BJ Color Printer Profile 2000).

I’m lost. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Bill

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

MR
Mark_Reibman
Sep 30, 2003
I’m no expert on the subject but I would start by using a Premium Canon paper and eliminate the paper issue. If nothing changes than we can start looking at other possibilities.

Also, do you know what is the resolution of the print? ppi? (Check under Image>Resize>Image size)
BT
Bill Todd
Sep 30, 2003
I made a 4 x 6 print on Canon Photo Paper Pro Glossy and it has the same problem. The resolution for an 8 x 10 print is over 200 ppi in both dimensions.
BH
Beth_Haney
Oct 1, 2003