Help! Cannot view my web site! Get red x’s when saved as .html file.

PT
Posted By
p_tillman
Apr 14, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to web design, so please bare with me:

After I create a page in Photoshop, and add slices in ImageReady (and tie them to a url) I preview in Explorer and all is fine and dandy. Then I go back to Photoshop to save the file so I can upload it to the web.

Here is the crux: I’m only allowed to save as an .html document and I have to have slices selected. (??) If I then do that and upload it to my remote site and look at it on the site I see nothing!!! Well, I see little red boxes with x in them.

I have a choice of saving the page as a .gif and be able to see it on my site after uploading —but I cannot have any links on the .gif!!
OR
I can save as the prompted .html have the page be ‘clickable’ —-but I cannot see what I"m clicking on!

PLEASE PLEASE help me figure out what I am doing wrong or not doing! Thank you.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

C
Cindy
Apr 14, 2004
The red x’s mean your picture isnt there. Be sure you upload them.

It might be really helpful to you if you got a book on basic html. You need to have a basic understanding before anyone can really help. Another choice would be to get into the PS help files and read everything you can about html although for me I would not start with PS.
SW
Scott_Weichert
Apr 14, 2004
Without a link, there could be several reason why images wouldn’t show up.
When you up;oaded the html file.. did you also upload all the images to your server???
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Apr 14, 2004
If you use Save for Web you have the choice of an HTML file and the slices as images in a folder.

Or you could hav Saved Optimized out of ImageReady to get the same thing.

You must upload the html doc and the images folder.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance