J
Posted By
jaSPAMc
Apr 12, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
A fiend is looking for a second hand scanner specifically for use with a Mac.

I’ve no knowledge of their current system or peripherals. He’s tried a couple scanners (didn’t say which) but the Mac portion of the drivers supplied didn’t work.

I’d appreciate suggestions as to brand and model. Price -=IS=- an object in his situation.

Thanks

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

G
gowanoh
Apr 12, 2008
Because of the instability of the Mac OS platform you may have a real problem getting drivers for an older scanner.
The changes from Power PC to X86 as well conversion of the OS to serially incompatible Unix clones has severely constrained consumers as well as would be developers for the Mac platform.
Including Adobe.
Apple is extending its Idi Amin-like rapacious paranoia to the Iphone SDK. Jobs knows best.
In Jobs We Trust.
A lowly old Win98 box will have more used scanners adaptable to it than the latest overpriced/underpowered Apple box.
The excessive cost of ownership of Apple machines extends far beyond the breathtaking price of the box itself . . .
T
Tacit
Apr 12, 2008
In article ,
Sir F. A. Rien wrote:

I’ve no knowledge of their current system or peripherals. He’s tried a couple scanners (didn’t say which) but the Mac portion of the drivers supplied didn’t work.

If your friend is using an old OS 9 based machine, any new scanner (which will supply drivers only for OS X) will not work. Without knowledge of what operating system your friend is using, it’s unlikely we can help.

Photography, kink, polyamory, shareware, and more: all at http://www.xeromag.com/franklin.html
J
jaSPAMc
Apr 12, 2008
tacit found these unused words:

In article ,
Sir F. A. Rien wrote: