PB
Posted By
Pamela Brooke
Sep 17, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Im making a banner ad. Im an artist, but im a basic newbie on Photoshop elements. My art is saved in jpg files…ive created a banner ad and the file size is 82K. It needs to be 15K. What do i need to do to rduce file size. I have to have this done by thursday 9/19! Any help is appreciated more than you know!

thanks, pamela

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

PD
Peter Duniho
Sep 17, 2003
"Pamela Brooke" wrote in message
[…] ive created a banner ad and the file size is 82K. It needs to be 15K. What do i need to do to rduce file size.

Open the file in Elements. File/Save As… and choose a new file name for the file. Select JPEG for the file type.

When you click Save, a dialog will come up allowing you to change the compression settings. Elements does not allow you to change the compression with as much precision as many other similar programs do, but it should give you enough control to accomplish what you want.

So, in that dialog, there’s a "quality" drop-down. As the quality goes down, so does the file size. Elements will also show you, down at the bottom of the dialog, the estimated file size. So you can play with the compression settings until you get a file size you like.

I’m assuming that the actual pixel width and height of the image is fixed, according to the specs for the banner ad. If you can make the ad smaller, that’s another way to reduce the file size.

Hope that helps…welcome to the world of digital image editing. 🙂

Pete
PB
Pamela Brooke
Sep 17, 2003
thanks pete! i reduced it once by saving to to the web…i have it down to 27k. I will use theinfo above. its my first banner ad and it’s going up on ebay. I sell my own art and my sales have been slow lately. i hope this helps…