How do I increase the resolution in my image when ready…….

JE
Posted By
James_Earl_Jones
Apr 2, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
to print out my final print. I am a newbie thank you…I just got back into photoshop and am learning as I go along. Be nice.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

You should be working at the proper print resolution from the get-go.

To increase resolution at the last moment will only degrade your image.
JE
James_Earl_Jones
Apr 2, 2004
OK WELL MAYBE THAT DIDN’T COME OUT RIGHT. SO, IF I AM WORKING ON AN IMAGE HOW WOULD I INCREASE THE RESOLUTION SO I AM NOT GETTING A PICTURE OF PIXELS.
AS
Ann_Shelbourne
Apr 2, 2004
The number of pixels in your image is decided at the moment that you create it — whether by scanning, or directly in a digital camera.
You need to start with a big enough file for your final needs — not be increasing resolution after the fact.

You also need to turn off your caps lock!

:~)
NK
Neil_Keller
Apr 3, 2004
James,

Unlike TV crime dramas which miraculously reveal a clear license plate number shot by a security video camera 50 yards away, you cannot reveal image detail or texture that is not in the original image (although you can enhance weak detail). If your image is small or low resolution and you can’t reshoot the original at appropriate resolution, you may be able to interpolate data that could give you a satisfactory larger image using resampling techniques, including Genuine Fractals. The image would be larger. The edges would be suitably sharp. But you would have no additional detail. And set side by side with a properly shot original, there would be differences in detail and overall quality.

Neil
L
Larryr544
Apr 3, 2004