EH
Posted By
Ed_Hannigan
Apr 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Sorry. Still not working. Seems like such a simple basic thing.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

R
Ram
Apr 1, 2004
Ed,

I’m just beginning to wade through David Pogue’s book, but I remember reading somewhere in there specifically that there was a setting you had to set to "Global" . I’ll post again when I find it again.
AS
Ann_Shelbourne
Apr 1, 2004
I think that the setting that you are looking for is in Finder/Preferences.

Click on the desktop or on the Finder icon in the Dock and choose Preferences. In the "General" tab, UNcheck "Open New Windows in Column View".

Actually, once you get used to it, you may find "Column View" to be much more useful.
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Apr 1, 2004
Ann,

Done it. To no avail.

I have no problem with Column View. What I hate is the Icon view. And of course the utterly useless Relative Dates which also seems to be a default.

However I will recheck Column View because I can at least live with that over Icon View If it will stick.

Thanks.
AS
Ann_Shelbourne
Apr 1, 2004
I find the Date Modified column quite useful: You can click on the top of any column in List View and the Finder will then list by Name, Date or Size etc.

Clicking the clear lozenge at the RHS top corner of the window opens the Toolbar and you can add the View icons to it if they are not there already — or you can just Cmd 1, 2, or 3 to get the View that you want.
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Apr 1, 2004
It’s not the date Modified column that bothers me, it’s Relative Dates. Like Today, Yesterday, etc., instead of the actual date.

I know I can easily change these things but I don’t want to have to do it over and over for each time I look at a window. They claim they can be set to stick, but they can’t.
PC
Paul_Chernoff
Apr 1, 2004