Posted By
Gordon Powell
Feb 2, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,
I’m new to Photoshop and want to work on digital photographs that I have taken. The question that I have comes into play when I take the file (on a CD) to my neighborhood digital photo printer.

1. Should the files be saved in RGB or CMYK?
2. Should they be saved as JPEG or GIF?
3. What dpi characteristic is best for, say, an 8 X 10 print?
4. If a file (photo) looks good on my screen, will it look the same when it
is printed on photo paper?

Answers to any or all of the above will be appreciated.

Gordon Powell

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

A
a
Feb 2, 2005
"Gordon Powell" wrote in message
Hello,
I’m new to Photoshop and want to work on digital photographs that I have taken. The question that I have comes into play when I take the file (on a CD) to my neighborhood digital photo printer.

4. If a file (photo) looks good on my screen, will it look the same when
it

Gordon Powell

Gordon,

1. Just leave them as RGB if you’re having them printed at the local photo shop or on a desktop printer. The only time they need to be converted to CMYK is for commercial printing (magazine, brochure, etc.)

2. Leave them as JPG (preferably at maximum quality). GIF only supports 256 colors whereas JPEG supports millions.

3. For an inkjet printer (typically used by your local photo printer) around 200 d.p.i. should be sufficient at any size. More isn’t bad, just takes up unnecessary disk space.

4. Try using Photoshop’s generic RGB profile and it should get you "in the ball park." Maybe try one photo and see how the prints compares to what you are seeing on screen.

Craig
R
RSD99
Feb 2, 2005
When you take your pictures "… to my neighborhood digital photo printer …." it will probably be using one of the following printers: