MB
Posted By
Misty_Byers
Mar 3, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
i’m pretty new to this, so i’m sorry for the elementary questions…

I’m in the process of scanning in literally thousands of family pictures. my plan is to have them on an external hardrive for myself (a MAC user), but I would like to be able to burn them to disks to give to family members (combo of MAC and PC users).

i’ve been scanning them in at 300 dpi and saving as tiff files. when it asks me byte order, i’ve been going with Macintosh (rather than IBM). i’m just now realizing that this probably means that when i burn the images to disks, the PC-users won’t be able to read them.

My questions are these:

1. Am i right in thinking that PC users won’t be able to open them? If so, is there a way to convert them now to PC byte order…or do I have to rescan everything?

2. Or should I jsut be saving them in IBM byte order in the first place? If so, will it cause any problem/changes when opened on a MAC?

3. Is saving them at 300 dpi/tiff the best way to go?

4. Is there a way to convert them all to jpegs (so that I can store them on my computer hard drive without using up all the space of tiff files) in batch-style, rather than one by one?

Thanks for any replies.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

RW
Rene_Walling
Mar 3, 2004

1. Am i right in thinking that PC users won’t be able to open them? If
so, is there a way to convert them now to PC byte order…or do I have to rescan everything? 2. Or should I jsut be saving them in IBM byte order in the first place? If so, will it cause any problem/changes when opened on a MAC?

PC or Mac byte order doesn;t really matter these days anymore, either can be opened on both platforms.

3. Is saving them at 300 dpi/tiff the best way to go?