PS
Posted By
Phil_Schirmer
Mar 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I tagged this question onto another thread and didn’t get any responses there so I’ll try again. When I work with large text over an image (I’m a book designer) the text is fussy to work with. If I move it, pieces of the letters get left behind. Or if I highlight a letter and change it nothing happens until I zoom in or out. I’ve had this problem in Quark in the past and was told it was a memory problem? I’m using a G5 with 1.2 gigs RAM so it CAN’T be a memory problem… Any suggestions?
Thanks, Phil

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

DK
Doug_Katz
Mar 1, 2004
Two questions, Phil:

1. Does the text redraw properly when you refresh the screen?

2. At what magnification does this happen?
NK
Neil_Keller
Mar 1, 2004
Is your type left as vector type, or has it been converted to pixels? If the former, is it just one font (if so, I would think a corrupted font which should be replaced), or any? Is this just a screen anomaly (if so, I would think it’s your video card), or does it print the same as what you see?

Neil
PS
Phil_Schirmer
Mar 1, 2004
Well, I just tried again and it does seem to work OK at 100%. Hmmm… if this means that I can’t work with type at a reduced viewing size that’s a problem. Never had any difficulties in earlier Photoshops.

Yes, Doug, it does redraw correctly when I refresh the screen. I just have to refresh the screen every time I make any changes to the type (i.e. larger, smaller, or moving it, which I’m constantly doing as a designer).

Neil – I’ve just upgraded to CS. I wasn’t even aware the text is temporarily in vector. I just assumed it was pixels. (I just click on the T tool and start typing). I guess I’ll have to do some more learning…

Thanks for your replies. For now, I’ll work at 100%.
DK
Doug_Katz