RH
Posted By
Richard Hirschman
Aug 1, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a relative newbie with PE2. I tried using the color burn mode to tint a scene. I did it as follows: Using the color burn mode on a new layer, I tinted the scene with the paint brush. In creating the new color burn mode layer, I could have chosen to have the layer covered with the color burn neutral color white or leave that new layer transparent. I tried tinting with the paint brush on the color burn mode layer, with and without using the color burn neutral color white and the results of tinting with the paint brush seemed to be the same. That is, in one case the color burn layer was filled with white and in the other case it was transparent before I started tinting. In both cases tinting with the paint brush appeared to have the same results.
Why would one use the neutral color white in a color burn layer (or black in a color dodge layer) rather than leaving the layer transparent?
Thanks.
Richard Hirschman

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

RH
Richard Hirschman
Aug 2, 2003
Hi Chuck,
Thanks for the gray color tip.
Richard
CS
Chuck Snyder
Aug 2, 2003
Richard, you’re getting deeper into blending modes than I’ve ever gone, but you’ve certainly piqued my curiosity. Will look into it a bit later after I return from my normal Saturday morning routine.

One other method you may want to consider for tinting: use a Color Fill layer, which can be set for any blending mode. Advantage of the color fill layer is that you can keep reopening the Color Picker and tweak the color choice to whatever you want. Same can be done with a Hue/Saturation Adjustment Layer, another alternative.

But I want to understand those blending modes, so I’ll be trying to figure it out from the library here, and hopefully some more folks will chime in!