Posted By
Mary
Jul 3, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi

I am a bit of a newbie with Photoshop but can do the basics.

I need to create sand for a book cover I want to design. Ideally I would like to airbrush the sand on top of another image.

Is this at all possible? Do I have any other options?

Any help appreciated

Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

K
keepout
Jul 3, 2007
On Tue, 03 Jul 2007 17:14:01 +0100, Mary wrote:

Hi

I need to create sand for a book cover I want to design. Ideally I would like to airbrush the sand on top of another image.

noise, play with it till you have the texture you want.

more pix @ http://members.toast.net/cbminfo/index.html
FS
Fat Sam
Jul 3, 2007
Mary wrote:
Hi

Any help appreciated

Set up a new layer above the one you want to airbrush the sand onto. Now select a nice sandy colour for your foreground colour. Using your brush tool on a nice soft edged setting, paint in the sand where you want it to be.
Once your happy with that, copy the entire layer into a new layer, so you have 2 identical layers, one directly above the other.
Apply noise to both layers. Use Gaussian and monochrome in the noise settings and play with teh slider until you get a natural granular effect. Use the same noise settings for both layers.
Now move and offset the top layer a little bit to the right and downwards. Next set the blending mode on this layer to "Linear Burn". This will create a 3d effect and give the pile of sand some depth. Use the fill slider on the top layer to blend and adjust the starkness of the shadow.

You should end up with something that looks a bit like this. http://www.norfolklupusgroup.co.uk/misc/sand.jpg