Posted By
morrisoncorp
Feb 12, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Depending on the nature of your "sketch"

Select color range Window>Show Paths Make work path from selection: bottom right icon on the paths window Save path: double click "work path" Name it, OK Fill path, triangle pull down menu, top right corner of the path window

Free transform will scale.

There are several programs which do this type of work, ie Streamline. I haven’t found one that doesn’t need cleaning up afterwards. I’ll allways go in and delete and manipulate points to simplify.

Illustrator forum may have suggestions as well.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

M
morrisoncorp
Feb 12, 2004
OOPS! Sorry for that post. I’m new at this game.
This may be easier to read:

1. Select color range
2. Window>Show Paths
3. Make work path from selection: bottom right icon on the paths window
4. Save path: double click "work path"
5. Name it, OK
6. Fill path, triangle pull down menu, top right corner of the path window
PC
Philo_Calhoun
Feb 12, 2004
I would place the image in Illustrator, lock the layer, and trace out the image on a different layer. If your image has continuous tones, you will need to use blends, gradients, or gradient mesh objects in Illustrator. If it doesn’t (in other words, looks like a paint by number illustration), you can more easily trace it in Illustrator or try one of the bitmap to vector conversion programs: streamline, Corel-OCR trace, silhouette, Flash, etc. Just remember that all these automatic programs convert to a max of 256 colours, so they will not resemble a continous toned image. Manual tracing does not have those restrictions.
PC
Pierre_Courtejoie
Feb 12, 2004
If the drawing is mostly in black and whie,
1)create a luminosity-based selection (command+click the rgb channel)