Posted By
jln32
Jul 10, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have 2 questions:

First of all, I’ve created a spot channel of the letter "X" in gold but now cannot go back and arrange the "X" to the back since this arrangement is not viable in PS. I need to have the spot channel of the X behind a layer of text but in front of an image (essentially 3 layers). Right now the X has positioned itself on top of all the other layers….not where it needs to be

Any ideas on how I can create this in PS?

My second question is that I want to step up and get a graphics programs since PS cannot offer a lot of the things i need to do. Should I try and buy Illustrator or Pagemaker? Quark? (sorry Adobe!) I’m just starting out but the more work I do, PS is not performing all the tasks that are needed.

If someone can answer/other suggestions, I’d appreciate it!

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

P
Phosphor
Jul 10, 2003
What kind of things will you be needing to do? This information will help those who can suggest which programs can accomplish the necessary tasks.
Y
YrbkMgr
Jul 10, 2003
Quark is powerful, but it’s nickname is Quirk – something to consider. If I had to do vector work, I would use Illustrator. I don’t know if it can be used as a page layout app since I don’t use it, but one of the Design Collections from Adobe should be able to help. I suspect that the decision would be between Pagemaker and InDesign. Check out Adobe’s products for Print and that may help guide you.
V
viol8ion
Jul 10, 2003
If I had to do vector work, I would use Illustrator. I don’t know if it can be used as a page layout app since I don’t use it,

I have a friend that uses Illy exclusively for her page layout work, even though she has Quirk and Pagemaker on her Mac. She has even designed newsletters using Illy, and she does free-lance work for several large corporations.

Carl B. Johnson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~