Posted By
susan
Oct 12, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,

I’m using Photoshop 6 and having problems creating a file with transparant text on a colored background.

I tried layers (text-layer) but can’t get the text transparant. Perhaps there is an option to change the text-color to background and the background (in this case transparant) to text-color?

Thanks,

susan

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

LL
Leo Lichtman
Oct 13, 2008
"susan" wrote: (clip) having problems creating a file with transparant
text on a colored background. (clip)
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
I’m not an expert, by any means, so I wonder whether I am missing something in your requirements. I think I did what you want very easily in Photoshop Elements.
1.) Create the colored background.
2.) Apply lettering to the background in white (or any contrasting color.)
3.) Select the lettering using any convenient method. I used the magic
wand, set for "non-contiguous," so all the letters were selected in one stroke.
4.) Flatten image.
5. Change image to Layer O (so it is not background layer.)
6. Hit "delete," which makes the lettering transparent.
7. Put a layer of any color you want behind it.

Voila!
T
Tacit
Oct 13, 2008
In article <G0xIk.268444$>,
"Leo Lichtman" wrote:

4.) Flatten image.

Wow, that’s a long way around.

It is not necessary to use the magic wand to select a layer. You can do it more precisely by holding down the Control key on the keyboard and clicking on the layer thumbnail in the Layers palette. (Indeed, using the magic wand is probably a sign that you have not yet learned Photoshop.)

It is not necessary to flatten the image. When you have control-clicked the layer icon to select it, delete the text layer, then just press the Delete key to delete the selected area in the color layer.