YG
Posted By
yoann_godiet
May 4, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
as a matter of fact, adobe has not chosen to developp adobe cs for linux. I wondered why it hasen’t been done now. I am a student in 2D 3D and the fact that it is not implemented on linux is the only reason why I have not migrate on linux
The cinema industry is going massively on linux and it is a very bad idea for adobe to refuse to go on linux.
I think that it is a bad choice to ignore this mass community of professional… I hope somebody will reply to this message

yoann 24 france
student

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

TD
Thee_DarkOverLord
May 4, 2004
what kind of reply are you looking for?
DM
dave_milbut
May 4, 2004
I’d likely move too if it were available. The adobe developers have hinted that a couple of major reasons for not doing a linux build are the stability of a common desktop interface across linux versions and the business question, will linux users want to purchase a $600+ application. For now if you want PS on a UNIX variant, you can go Mac OSX.
PC
Pierre_Courtejoie
May 4, 2004
I’ve seen that there are windows emulators on Linux that allow to run Photoshop, as for the stability… I don’t know!
A
Alexander
May 4, 2004
The cinema industry does not use off-the-shelf Linux distributions, but self-written or adapted versions. Plus, when they choose a platform, they often write proprietary software.

Does Pixar, for example, use Photoshop?

Dave Milbut wrote the rest that is to say.

Pierre,
a Windows emulator on a Linux machine? That’s not what Linux-freaks want to have, I imagine. I’m waiting for the wirst Linux-guy to feature that. *lol*

Bye
Al
RB
Robert_Barnett
May 4, 2004