Posted By
sammybee
May 2, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi All-

I’m still a newbie to Photoshop CS and was wondering if Photoshop CS Classroom in a Book would be a good one to learn the basics of the program. Any comments on this book would be great. Any suggestions to other book would be great as well.

Thanks in advance.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

DM
Don_McCahill
May 2, 2004
I haven’t read the CS version of the book, but if past experience is any indication, it will largely be the version 7 book reprinted, with some new parts to deal with new features in the program.

I found the books thorough, if not a bit of a boring read. They do take you through pretty much all of the basics of the program in a series of hands-on examples.

I find the series worthwhile (for a beginner … it’ll bore an experienced user to tears).
LM
Lori_M
May 2, 2004
I think the book is great – I use it for a reference when I can’t figure out how to do something. Another great book is Photoshop CS Down and Dirty Tricks by Scott Kelby. The Killer Tips books are good too.
PC
Philo_Calhoun
May 2, 2004
The Classroom in a Book series is very good for Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and Framemaker. It is fair for Encore and Premiere Pro and not very good for After Effects. Real World Photoshop is a good next book after the PS CIB.
P
Phosphor
May 2, 2004
The Classroom in a Book series are good, but a little dry for my tastes.

Deke McClelland’s "Photoshop Bible" is a comprehensive, encyclopedic volume, and he is a witty, easy-to-read writer. Go to your local bookstore and page through it for 10 or 15 minutes. You’ll see what I’m talking about.

Highly recommended.
H
hallinan
May 2, 2004
Deke McClelland has a new one, "Adobe Photoshop CS one-on-one." Comes with a two-hour video tutorial CD.
S
sammybee
May 4, 2004