reducing noise and sharpening by painting??

LS
Posted By
Larry Samwells
Jan 18, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m kind of in a bind. I am by no means an expert when it comes to PS CS, but here’s what I need to do:

The picture I have is of a landscape (basically trees, water and sky), but it has two shortcomings: excessive noise and lack of sharpness. For the noise, I have tried the various blurs of CS as well as turned to programs like Neat Image, etc, but the noise is enough that if removed to make the picture look good, I am left with an "oil painting" type result. The noise already present means that I can’t really sharpen the picture without more noise as a result. Recently, I came across some information suggesting that I could carefully repaint the picture and because of the repainting process, the noise would be reduced. I have been attempting this for a week now using the various brushes and settings, but the transition between fine details is too sharp and the paint itself leaves the impression of a bit of oil painting. I think this method shows a lot of potential though and, even though it looks like it’s going to take a lot of time, I *think* if I can learn a better technique, the end result might be astonishing. I’d just like to mention that I have tried blurring the edges of freshly painted areas as well as applying the paint in very small opacity in many layers. There’s still too much smoothness and the especially the edges are too sharp. I want the repainting to be subtle, like as if the original picture was taken under perfect conditions. Am I asking too much, or is it possible and where can I find tips on this technique and a better method than the one I have been using?

Thank you in advance for any responses,
Larry Samwells

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

B
Broga
Jan 18, 2005