B
Posted By
bgold
Oct 21, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hey, I’m a beginner with photoshop, and I suspect this is kind of stupid question, but here goes…

Can you have transparent pixels as part of a layer? Every time I create a layer I either have to copy/cut an existing image (made up of pixels), or I create the layer by drawing something, and the layer becomes only the pixels that I’ve drawn.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

P
pico
Oct 21, 2007
"bgold" wrote in message

Can you have transparent pixels as part of a layer? Every time I create a layer I either have to copy/cut an existing image (made up of pixels), or I create the layer by drawing something, and the layer becomes only the pixels that I’ve drawn.

Do you really mean layer? Are you creating additional layers, or just drawing on the existing one?
B
bgold
Oct 21, 2007
On Oct 21, 4:32 am, "pico" <pico.pico.net> wrote:
"bgold" wrote in message

Do you really mean layer? Are you creating additional layers, or just drawing on the existing one?

Um… yes, I think I mean layer. What I’m asking is: can I have a surface area of a fixed size that I can move around, containing transparent pixels, with maybe some colored pixels?
R
ronviers
Oct 21, 2007
On Oct 21, 1:51 am, bgold wrote:
Hey, I’m a beginner with photoshop, and I suspect this is kind of stupid question, but here goes…

Hi,
The answer will be different if you are trying to position a word on a background or a glass on a table.
One possibility is that you can use one of the Lasso or Marquee tools to define an area then copy/paste to create a new layer. Then the new layer’s position can be changed using the Move tool and the transparency can be lowered using the Opacity slider.
You can also drag a layer to the New Layer icon then use the Move tool to reposition that.

Good luck with your project,
Ron
P
pico
Oct 21, 2007
"bgold" wrote in message