Image Resolution Degrades Making Collage.

RK
Posted By
Ric Kaysen
Sep 23, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Please excuse the beginners question here, I’m rather new to Photoshop. Using PS CS, I’m trying to create a simple collage using layers over a background image. It all seems to go well until I see the finished project printed. The original images were taken with an 8 megapixel camera. The originals look awesome, but when applied to a collage and printed or viewed enlarged on the monitor, the resolution of the individual pictures looks more like taken with a 640 X 480 camera. I’ve been looking for some way to improve the resolution of the component images in the collage, but I’m not getting it. Any suggestions would be very welcome….TIA.

Remove NOSPAM to reply

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

K
Kingdom
Sep 23, 2004
"Ric Kaysen" wrote in
news:o_B4d.2824$:

Please excuse the beginners question here, I’m rather new to Photoshop. Using PS CS, I’m trying to create a simple collage using layers over a background image. It all seems to go well until I see the finished project printed. The original images were taken with an 8 megapixel camera. The originals look awesome, but when applied to a collage and printed or viewed enlarged on the monitor, the resolution of the individual pictures looks more like taken with a 640 X 480 camera. I’ve been looking for some way to improve the resolution of the component images in the collage, but I’m not getting it. Any suggestions would be very welcome….TIA.

don’t know what your doing exactly but it sounds like a resolution problem, for print the dpi should be a minimim of 200 pixels/inch and the hight the better to the thresh hold of your printer. Screen imagege tend to 72 0r 96 ppi and either become very small or look mushy when printed.

Check resolution in IMAGE menu > IMAGE SIZE > pixels/inch for both pictures.