GD
Posted By
Gary Dickson
Sep 9, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I never do this sort of thing but here goes…

This is a public service announcement ‹

I will try to keep a very long story as short as possible. I have been using Ventures Online for over 3 years as my host. In the first part of this year they merged with another company and they are now Data393. Late in July I request some help with accessing their help desk — submitted an online form at least once and emailed after that at least one time. Several weeks later I final received a response. By that time I was shopping for a new hosting service. I emailed Data393 on August 10th requesting they terminate my account. I receive no response to that email and assumed the account would be deactivated within 2 weeks (standard procedure I thought). On Sept 1st I received a billing statement for September from Data393. I called and spoke with a female in their billing department (I thought) on September 2nd. After a brief conversation and the female looking up my email I was told that my account would be credited and that it was terminated. On Tuesday a charge showed up on my bank account — you guessed it DATA393 for Sept!!!

I just got off the phone with them and was told that since I did not submit a ticket through their help desk that there was nothing that could be done about it — I must pay for September. They claim to have sent me emails stating that the ONLY way to terminate an account is via their help desk. I swear that I have received no such emails ‹ I am an honest business person.

This is all a bit weird since in the end they terminated my account because of a phone call. A paradox that I brought to their attention on the phone but that they didn’t seem to find odd.

Since I didn¹t terminate in the perscribed fashion I suppose there is still a good chance I¹ll receive another bill and charges in Oct ‹ I¹ll let you know.

IF YOUR LOOKING FOR BAD SERVICE AT A REASONABLE RATE USE DATA393.