Posted By
John
Aug 27, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,
Im kinda new to photoshop and have the above problem being reported………."current scratch disk preference almost full".What exactly is the function of the scratch disk, and what is it.Is it similar to a temporary cache or clipboard.Where can I find a good discription and solution to this problem.I read a previous post here about the scratch disk needing to be set up on a seperate drive or partition………..is thiis so.? TIA John

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

J
Jim
Aug 27, 2004
"John" wrote in message
Hi,
Im kinda new to photoshop and have the above problem being reported………."current scratch disk preference almost full".What
exactly
is the function of the scratch disk, and what is it.Is it similar to a temporary cache or clipboard.Where can I find a good discription and solution to this problem.I read a previous post here about the scratch
disk
needing to be set up on a seperate drive or partition………..is thiis so.? TIA John
The principal use of the scratch area is a place to store the temporary files that PS must create. PS is supposed to empty the scratch files on exit. If the disk is close to full, then PSA cannot create all of them hence the message.

PS will run better if the scratch disk is not the boot disk. A partition on a separate physical disk will help in management of the files. A partition on the boot disk won’t help speed.
Jim
RG
Randy Gentry
Aug 27, 2004